Prayer

My name is Andrea Simmonds, and I am the youth intern at the First United Methodist Church in Murphy, North Carolina. Part of my job is that sometimes I lead the devotionals for the youth. I also make sure that the high school seniors that are a part of the Alpha youth group are prepared to give a devotional, too. Each time that I present, I get to choose what I want to talk about—whether it be something that I learned about my faith that week or just something that I think that is important when growing in a Christian walk. A few weeks ago was my turn to give the devotional, and the one thing that had been very prevalent in my Christian walk at that moment was prayer. I also felt that a lot of times we tend to ignore prayer or feel as if it’s not doing anything. I felt that the kids I work with needed to understand what role prayer plays in their spiritual lives and just how important it is. So I told them a story about how prayer has worked in my life.

My biological mother had been diagnosed with blood clots, and a stint that had been put in was completely collapsed to the point that there was severe blockage on one side of her body. I am not a doctor, and to hear this kind of news I felt powerless and very frightened to say the least. Being that this was the way I felt, you can imagine what my mom was going through. Because I am not a doctor and the power for this sort of thing was out of my hands, I decided to turn to the one whose hands it was in. I did the only thing I knew to do, and that was pray. All of this started in the earlier part of the summer, so from May until about August I had been requesting constant prayer for my mom. What was even better is that the people I had asked to pray for my mom asked others to pray for her as well. People that I had no idea even cared were telling me that they were praying for my mom.

In the earlier part of September, my mom went in for surgery. What was supposed to happen is that the surgeon would go in and unblock the stint and then reinforce it with another stint so that it wouldn’t collapse again. The way the hospital works that my mom was in is that during the surgery the surgeons will come out and give the family a sort of play-by-play of what’s going on. The surgeon called me to the front desk to talk. I’m not going to lie; I was expecting the worse. The surgeon told me that the stint was so blocked they couldn’t unblock it. My heart fell at her words, but then she smiled and told me that it was not a problem.  My mother’s body had made another route to where her body was healing itself. There was no longer any blockage. I couldn’t stop myself from feeling so overjoyed! Could it have turned out any better? God, The Great Physician, had stepped in and did what the surgeons could not. God created a way when we saw no way.

A lot of times in life, we tend to worry about things and lose sight of what’s really important. We worry so much that it’s easy to lose our joy and, at times, to feel miserable and hopeless. When we turn to God in prayer, He listens, and it helps us to cut down on our anxiety. Sometimes we may not feel like He’s never going to answer, but God always answers in His time and in the way He sees best. When we pray to God it shows we trust Him, and fully trusting in Him helps us to go through life less apprehensive and more joyful. I’d like to leave off with a quote that I’ve always loved, “Little is much when God is in it.” That couldn’t be more true.10329021_869845239692742_8376090454253035209_n(2)

Leave a Reply

