Let Go and Let God

My name is Monica-Gayle Lewis, and I am one of the interns at Sharp Memorial United Methodist Church. I facilitate Sunday school (ages 3-5) and Children’s Church (ages 5-10) and once a month assist with serving communion. I never thought I would be here.  If a year ago you told me that I would be, I would have thought you were crazy!  I am a theatre major with a minor of psychology whose faith was less than perfect. Then, last year (around September) I got hurt and the infection was so bad, I almost lost my leg and my life.

After being in the hospital for weeks, depressed with nothing to do but think, I started to pray. In doing so, I realized what I took for granted and how selfish I had been, thinking I could do everything on my own. This situation opened my eyes that it is not in my hands, everything but my passion for changing lives and my love for kids.

monicaThis is how I got this internship. I grew in my faith, and I got to the point that I let God make the decisions and control my life. I “dropped the rope” and let God win, like He was going inevitably to do. I had no idea about this internship, but I got a call from a friend who knew what I wanted to do and what changes I wanted to make in both my and other’s lives. I thank God every day for this experience, because I not only get to share my knowledge, but I also get to learn from the kids I teach.  Now every week I can see how “letting God” makes a huge difference and makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

