Communication Is Key by Monica Lewis

. . .but Jesus said,let the children “Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.”

—Matthew 19:14

Communication is at the root of everything, whether verbal or nonverbal. I believe God gave me the gift of communication, especially with children. I have always had a knack for working with them, and as I got older, I knew that I wanted to mold young minds forever! That is what I feel like I am doing at Sharp Memorial Church. I work with many different ages.  Having to communicate with the three-year-olds is completely different than communicating with the nine-year-olds.

After for being at Sharp for a semester and a half, the kids aren’t the only ones changing though! My heart melts when I come in every week and see them, not as a class but as a family! Using the “Firm, Friendly, and Fair” method, the kids are learning so much and showing how smart they are in different ways. Without being able to communicate with them on their level, we would not have come so far, and I am proud of every single child.

Leave a Reply

